Skip to content
November 17, 2012 / glennlim thots

Power Mastery 3 (Welcome to the ‘DIP’!)


We talked about the 4 Stages of Learning (habit-formation) earlier. This article is a continuation of that model, albeit seen from a fresh perspective (see diagram above). You will notice a ‘Dip’ in the 2nd stage (Conscious Incompetence). At this stage, one is fully and painfully aware of his/her incompetence. It can be discouraging; you will doubt yourself; you will feel uncomfortable; you may be tempted to give up here; it is a sucky feeling to keep failing at this point…All these emotions are real and are to be expected. It is important to note that patience and perseverance is required for you to breakthrough at this point, so that you can reach the 3rd and final stages of this learning model.

Here are some words of encouragement to remind yourself when you are at stage 2, when u are down in the ‘Dip’:

  • If it is anything worth doing, you will hit a ‘Dip’.
  • The dip is the toll you cross, the dues you pay.
  • Push through this stage, and don’t entertain the temptation to crawl back into your comfort zone.
  • And as much as it might suck, celebrate as you wade your way through the dip.
  • Laugh when you can; cry, scream or vent if you need to; and know that you’ll emerge stronger on the other side. Finish line in sight. Big dream conquered.
  • Remember this principle – It gets worse before it gets better!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: